Security: Controlling Changes and Time Layer

Using Sales Layer

 

An essential part of Sales Layer is making sure that your data is secure and that you have control over any changes that are made. Bearing in mind that there may be several users working in Sales Layer, possibly along with several input connectors performing large imports, Sales Layer allows you to keep track of any changes that get made, as well as recording who made them. Furthermore, if things do go wrong, you can access a previous backup and reset your data to how it was before.

Before we continue, you should be aware that due to the demands these features imply at the server level, they are only available on Premium and Enterprise accounts.

We can view changes at the individual item level by going to Actions, then Show Editors. This opens a section on the left hand side, which breaks down changes based on the time they were made. It shows which user or connector made the change as well as what was changed. From here you can also choose to recover a previous state. To hide this section, you go back to the Actions menu and click Hide editors.

SHOW EDITORS

In addition to this we can also access an activity log that displays all Recent Activity, accessible from the menu in the upper right-hand corner. This shows us a breakdown of all the activity across the account. It also allows us to create a new backup copy of the current state of our account, as well as reverting to a previously made copy using Time Layer.

Recent activity

Time Layer stores up to a maximum of 30 backups, with each one being available for 30 days after its creation. If you try to create more than 30 then the oldest backup you have made will be deleted to make space for it. To make things easier you can also configure Time Layer so that it automatically creates daily backups, at a specified time.

If you do revert to a previous backup you should bear in mind that once you have done so, any changes you made after the backup will no longer be available. There will also be no possibility of returning to any of the backups which you created after the one you reverted to. On top of this be aware that your whole account will be reset to the moment of the backup, families and channels will appear with the configurations they had. This is especially important to consider if, for example, you have made changes to a connector which is connected to a website, as the configuration of the date exported might have been changed potentially causing errors.

Finally, if you find that you need to revert to a previous copy of your data that is not available using your backups, then please contact our Support Centre, they can speak to you about the possibility and cost of a manual recovery.